Reply To: California

SB 908 Update

Many thanks to each of you who sent emails to California State Assembly Members regarding SB 909.

Teamwork does make a difference, and CALI has the best team around! We were successful but not in a traditional way and not in the way we expected.

We were not able to get clarifying language to distinguish between a collection and the activities an investigator performs, such as locates, surveillance, and others, on behalf of a person or entity who is collecting a debt from a consumer.

What we did achieve is a procedure in the state legislature called a letter to the DAILY JOURNAL. It is rarely used, but it clarifies the intent of the bill and protects the interests of private investigators. It was not easy, but with the efforts of Assembly Member Jesse Gabriel, who, on behalf of his constituent, newly elected Chairman of the Board and CALI past president, Jay Rosenzweig, convinced Senator Bob Wieckowski to submit the Letter to the Senate Daily Journal on our behalf.

This is a great illustration of a relationship that each of us can develop with our elected officials.

Thanks to each of you 110 members, as without your efforts, we would have lacked the mounting legislative concern that allowed Assembly Member Gabriel to be effective.

Of course, as always, a huge thank you to Jerry Desmond and Anne Schillig, our wonderful lobbying team who stayed on top of it every step of the way. They sent letters to every single Assembly person on our behalf, not once but twice and the most recent on Sunday. They also monitored the hearing all day Sunday till it adjourned late Sunday night as well as Monday. Jerry and Anne – you guys rock!

The final list of CALI member contacts is listed below. Both houses accepted the Letter without objection, and it will be part of the legislative record on SB 908. The bill has proceeded to Governor Newsome for his signature before the September 30 deadline.

A little more about the Letter to the Daily Journal. . .

A Letter that is published in the Assembly or Senate Daily Journal is a little-used method to clarify the legislative intent of a bill’s author to explain either the ambiguity in a bill or the purpose of the changes the bill made in the law. It is a formal action. It must be a signed letter on the legislator’s letterhead. The custom is to have the respective leadership in both houses review the contents of the Letter and determine if there are any objections. If both houses approve, then the legislator can request the Letter be printed in the Daily Journal with a roll call vote of the house. The California Courts utilize these letters as aids to determine legislative intent.


Agosti, Carlos Gabriel, Jesse
Alexander, Randall Calderon, Ian
Alvarez, Fernando Bloom, Richard
Atkinson, Paul Quirk-Silva, Sharon
August, Brandon Frazier, Jim
Barfield, Amenoel Gray, Adam
Barna, Keith Low, Evan
Barnes, Richard Arambula, Joaquin
Beresford, Robert Frazier, Jim
Bortnick, Bob Stone, Mark
Bradley Nick Gloria, Todd
Brady, Mathhew Diep, Tyle
Brown, Clarick Wicks, Buffy
Brummond, Gary Quirk-Silva, Sharon
Burr, Barbara Aguilar-Curry, Cecilia
Cantrel, Jason Gallagher, James
Cardoza, Allen Diep, Tyler
Cavalieri, Cary Chau, Ed
Champion, Dana Carrillo, Wendy
Chance, Dwight Bloom, Richard
Cochran, Chuck Gonzales, Lorena
Copas, Bryan Rivas, Robert
Corcoran, Evan Brough, William
Cory, Kelly Holden, Chris
Courtney, Terry Bonta, Rob
Crooks, Rick Horvath, Tasha Boerner
Dellamarie, Barbara Cooper, Jim
Ditty, Sean Dahle, Megan
Doemer, Amy Stern, Henry
Ermoian, Gary Gray, Adam
Eskander, Nadim Chau, Ed
Farahmand, Erik Kiley, Kevin
Fernandez, Michael Quirk-Silva, Sharon
Fields, Anne Low, Evan
Flores, Esther Bauer-Kahan, Rebecca
Flores, Phil Bauer-Kahan, Rebecca
Fredricks, Susan Chen, Phillip
Frye, Jason Unknown Assembly Member
Gagliano, John Jones, Brian
Garza, Ken Mathis, Devon
Garza, Marc Weber, Shirley
Glucroft, Rob Unknown Assembly Member
Gustafson, Sean Kiley, Kevin
Harrison, Dusty McCarty, Kevin
Hart, Cliff Wood, Jim
Holmes, Brian Carrillo, Wendy
Hopkins, Anthony Aguiar-Curry, Cecelia
Hopkins, Anthony Levine, Marc
Huntington III, Frank Cooley, Ken
Johnson, Michael Mullin, Kevin
Jones, Jerimiah Unknown Assembly Member
King, Dawn Aguiar-Curry, Cecelia
Klier, Molly Bigelow, Frank
Koehler, Francie Bonta, Rob
Krevit, Steve Levine, Marc
Kroot, Tracey Low, Evan
Lewis, Becky Reyes, Eloise
Lewis, Don Reyes, Eloise
Luper, Pamela Unknown Assembly Member
Mann, Robert Irwin, Jacqui
Manzanares, Rick Cooley, Ken
Martin, V. Bloom, Richard
McClain, Ed Garcia, Eduardo
McClain, Mark Rubio, Blanca
McGarraugh, Michele Bonta, Rob
Miller, Mitchell Mathis, Devon
Moore, Bea Kiley, Kevin
Nagle, Bob Choi, Stephen
Nelson-Serrano Stone, Mark
Nixon, Tom Muratsuchi, Al
Nobriga, John Eggman, Susan
Ontiveros, Randy Wicks, Buffy
Palma, Sylvia Bauer-Kahn, Rebecca
Paloma, Richard Eggman, Susan
Paulino, Jay Gloria, Todd
Perrin, Anthony Maienschein, Brian
Price, Robert Waldron, Marie
Quihuis, Ed Vopel, Randy
Radus, Bob Petrie-Norris, Cottie
Ragan, Chad Irwin, Jacqui
Reitz, Ron Gloria, Todd
Reynolds, Chris Garcia, Eduardo
Rice, Robert Calderon, Ian
Rivera, Roberto Chu, Kansen
Romero, Ernest Cunningham, Jordan
Rosenzweig, Jay Gabriel, Jesse
Rowland, Mitch Fong, Vince
Samra, Harry Quirk, Bill
Sanderson, Robert Holden, Chris
Shigut, Ken Smith, Christy
Smothers, Ray Cooley, Ken
Stearman, Jeff Diep, Tyler
Thomas, Wen-Chi Low, Evan
Tyndall, Tawni Unknown Assembly Member
Wallace, Dave Flora, Heath
Walsh, Sean Huffman, Jared
Walsh, Sean Levine, Marc
Walshin, Linda Grayson, Timothy
Washington, Mason Unknown Assembly Member
Wells, Jeff Gallagher, James
Whitney, Kelly Wicks, Buffy
Whitney, Scott Wicks, Buffy
Williams, Dave Diep, Tyler
Wilson, Thomas Kiley, Kevin
Wolfe, Lee Dahle, Megan
Woolford, Barbara Allen, Ben
Wynn, Steve Choi, Stephen
Zemaitis, Edward Cunningham, Jordan
Zimmer, Jim Brough, William
Zisner, Jeff Nazarian, Adrian


Copyright © 2020 Investigators Toolbox. All rights reserved

New Report