Guidance for a new PI

• Crystal Hogan
    Participant

I have been scouring this site as well as others and in need of guidance …. My business is based in Southern California. I feel as though I’ve hit a wall. I’ve decided that I’ll start with just doing background checks and missing persons cases. I am a retired law enforcement officer with over 20 years of investigative experience but this somehow has me perplexed. Maybe I am just making this harder than it really is….. any help or guidance is appreciated.

1. How would you all verify information acquired by a paid site like TLO or Skopenow? Anyone have any report samples for background checks.

2. How would you all start a missing persons investigation outside of gathering all possible info from the client?

3. What software and OSINT websites would be beneficial for these two services.

4. Can you recommend someone you think may be interested in mentoring me to help me bounce a few things off of to get started?

Thanks in advance ☺️

Here are some answers from “Ask a PI Panel”. Make sure you visit community page to get more answers like this

George Gergis

Hi Crystal,

You are on the right track seeking knowledge. The timing of your questions, are strikingly coincidental. Last week I assigned a locate investigation to one of our investigators that was brought in from the field to start doing more background and locate work. Our case involved locating a homeless elderly man gone estrange from the family. I asked the investigator for an update yesterday and she said she was stuck and asked for advice.

The initial advice I offered was meant to be cruel and shocking for the specific purpose to jolt the mind or spirit of the investigator, by simply saying “you’re the investigator, investigate” then added to be smart and diligent in her efforts. (maybe I’ve been watching too much Hell’s Kitchen and adopting Ramsey’s method of training)